The greatest fortress – Psalm 48

I visited the beautiful medieval  Corvin Castle in Hunedoara in the summer. Much of it has been restored, and work is ongoing. Each room had explanations (fortunately in English as well as Romanian) of which ruler had added on which bits. It was a massive, mighty fortress, with all the ramparts, keep, moat, dungeons, towers, even a bear pit. No expense was spared to keep the invading hoards out.

When David chose Jerusalem, it was just a small fortress perched on a rock. To this place he brought the tabernacle for a permanent home, now the people were no longer wandering through the wilderness. It was later upgraded by Solomon, to become the Temple. This small citadel was a far cry from the likes of the castle at Hunedoara, yet see how it is described in Psalm 48 – an awesome place of beauty, godliness, and strength, fit for any tourist inspection!

The most striking contrast between these two fortresses though is found in verse 3. The Transylvanian kings built in all the features of Corvin Castle to keep them safe. In Jerusalem, it is the presence of the King of kings which is the protection – he is the fortress, he is the security. No wonder it seemed such a place of wonder to the psalmist.

We used to sing a song with the kids – There is a flag flying high from the castle of my heart, for the king is in residence here. His presence is everything. Within me! My security, my protection, my source of all I need. Come Lord, fill me anew. You are so welcome here.Psalm 48:1-2 Psalm 48:2-14

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher. Mother, grandmother, widowed after nearly 43 years of happy marriage. So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day. My aim is to hear what God is speaking for me, this day, this moment, through what I read in his Word, together with the experiences of everyday life. He's the best teacher!
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, faith, presence of God, protection, Psalms, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment