Seamless

I was mortified! My crown came loose in my mouth. I took hold of it, but it jumped out of my fingers and disappeared. I hunted high and low for that crown, so that I could get it glued back in. I went though everything, but it had vanished! I now had a gaping hole in my front teeth, and a really important appointment to attend. It mattered! I felt so embarrassed, trying not to let it show. Why do people say funny things when you are trying not to laugh???

How we dress can be so important. It’s not just about how we are received by others, but how we feel about ourselves too. Our confidence can’t be just about what we wear, but it goes a long way.

When Aaron ministered in the tabernacle, how he dressed was important (Exodus 28:31-35). For one thing, he was representing the people. When he was out of their sight, the bells on the bottom of his robe would inform them of his movements. They could follow his actions, and pray for him and with him as he offered sacrifices on their behalf. It was imperative, too, that he obeyed and honoured God in dressing exactly to the instructions Moses had received. Here he was, entering the Holy Place. Full respect was required.

The blue robe was woven in one piece – seamless. I am reminded of the garment Jesus wore, that the soldiers around the cross felt compelled not to tear as they were dividing out his clothing, and instead drew lots for it. That was an undergarment though. It probably hadn’t been seen by the general public before. Just Father God, and maybe his close friends. Aaron’s robe, on the other hand, was on display for all to see.

I see it a bit like righteousness. Personal integrity. No stitch-ups, the real deal. How do you look on the outside? Does the world see a person who is following Jesus? Do they even know? Could they tell? Do you appear seamlessly fit to worship?

And what about on the inside? The bit that only God sees? Of course none of us is perfect. Jesus willingly parted with that beautiful seamless undergarment to endure the horrors of crucifixion that we might stand sinless before him. That inside and out, we might be pure, and beautifully whole.

 

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Exodus, Jesus, righteousness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

