It’s the limit

Our main road has recently changed from a 40 to 30mph speed limit. You can’t imagine the furore it has caused! Life as we knew it came to an end, because it now takes 30 seconds longer to get along that stretch! Personally, if it has been looked at and considered safer for road users, and healthier for local residents, then 30 is fine for me. I honestly do my best to stay within the limits. Though I often have to endure another vehicle trying to attach itself to my exhaust pipe in the process. Come on folk, just set out 30 seconds earlier!

I was really curious about the breastplate fastenings in Exodus 28:22-28. This was a square, with twelve stones set into it, representing the twelve tribes of Israel. The two top corners of the breastplate were attached with gold chains and rings to the two stones on the shoulder of the ephod. The lower two corners were fastened with blue cord to the waistband, again with gold rings. Why gold at the top, and blue cord at the bottom? Apparently blue in the bible usually refers to the law. These cords were to ensure that the breastplate did not swing out from the ephod – kept it firmly in place. And I just wonder, was God speaking about the law as being something necessary but restrictive, to ensure the Israelites did life right? And the gold chains at the top – gold being the stuff of kings – was this referring to the King of kings reaching down, to make a new way, a way of grace?

They’re now introducing new speed cameras into our area. You can choose to obey the speed restrictions because they are good for us, to keep us safe and healthy, or you can push to go as fast as you can and pay the price when you get caught. I think the same applies in a way with God’s laws. They are there to keep us safe and healthy. Flout them if you must, but be aware it comes at a price. Or live in the security of his love, knowing that the boundaries are there for our good.

I don’t always understand why God has made some of the ‘rules’ for Christian living. But I do trust that he knows what is best for me. Help me Lord to obey you because I know you love me, and not just because I must.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in authority, Bible, Christianity, crime and punishment, Exodus, faith, God's love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

