On his shoulders

If we went for a walk when the kids were very small, their favourite position was always sitting up on daddy’s shoulders. It was a great place to be if we were watching something going on in a busy town, as they could see so much more up there, and they couldn’t get lost. There was a distinct advantage for me too. If we got separated, I could easily spot the familiar little head bobbing about up above the crowds. I guess they did get quite heavy for my husband after a while, but I think he loved having them there, enjoying the closeness.

So why did God instruct Moses to have stones of onyx mounted on the ephod, on the shoulders of the high priest (Exodus 28:6-12)? The names of the sons of Israel were to be inscribed on them, representing every individual in the nation. Those names were to be borne up high on Aaron’s shoulders, reminding God of his children. As he looked in that direction, he would see and remember each one of them. I think it is so beautiful that amongst all the order of religious form and artefacts God was establishing at this time, what he wanted was to keep the people first and foremost in his sights and remembrance.

In fact, some time later, in Isaiah 49:15-16, we hear that it’s even better than that. “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands…” He wants our names right there in front of his nose – that’s how much he loves us.

It must have been heavy, wearing that ephod with two stones big enough to carve six names on each, but I’m guessing Aaron, and those who followed after him in his distinguished office, were thrilled and delighted to bear those names up before God, to hold them up to his sight and remembrance.

Jesus is our great High Priest. I’m reminded of the words of a song that has helped me through some difficult times.

There is no problem too big God cannot solve it
There is no mountain too tall He cannot move it
And there is no storm too dark God cannot calm it
There is no sorrow too deep He cannot soothe it
And if He carried the weight of the world upon His shoulders
I know my brother that He will carry you
And if He carried the weight of the world upon His shoulders
I know my sister that He will carry you…

Many thanks to the songwriter Scott Wesley Brown

 

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Exodus, God's love, relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

