Time out

I must confess to feeling a tinge jealous when I see the glorious holiday photos my Facebook friends have posted; we haven’t been able to get away for quite a while now. But I never was a sit-around-the-pool sort of person. I mean, what do you do with all that time just lying there??? But I’ve a feeling it’s something I need to learn to do. Not particularly around a sunny pool, though.

Moses cleared his diary. He delegated his responsibilities to others capable of the tasks, and planned to be out of office for some time. God had called him to come up the mountain to him, for a stay (Exodus 24:12-18). Taking his P.A. Joshua with him, he put the time aside and made his way up the mountain.

For a whole week there was a cloud of glory settling on the mountain. Seems that God delighted in having them there. But what did they do? For a whole week? They’d have had manna to eat as normal, and water from a brook, but the time was just to spend hanging out with God and each other. Fellowship of the deepest kind.

Do you find that challenging? I do. I went to a soaking day a couple of weeks ago, where basically, you spend the time resting in the presence of God. It was so amazingly refreshing, and you know God always comes close when we invite him. So why is it so hard to put that sort of time in to my relationship with God when I’m at home? I am going to spend eternity with him; I need to be enjoying fellowshipping with him now! It probably boils down to being determined to be ‘out of office’. Taking your ‘work head’ off, and arranging life so you can focus on the one who loves you so much, and wants to spend time with you.

The word ‘holiday’ comes from HOLY DAY. A day set apart for God. If you can arrange life to take time out for a vacation, or even a day out, then it’s really not so difficult to take time out with God. A week, a day, an hour, or even just a few minutes. Just being with him. Let’s rediscover that joy.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Exodus, faith, Moses, prayer, presence of God, relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time out

  1. I needed to read this today. I am a school teacher with a 4 day weekend ahead. So many times I use these to work at home, but this time my goal is to do exactly as you have said. Rest in God. Thanks for sharing!

    • widemargin says:

      Thanks for sharing that with me Danielle. I know so well what you mean, as I was a teacher too. There will NEVER be enough time to do everything they ask of you, and if you did manage it, they’d find more! I must confess, I still need to learn it myself. But you know I think when we have spent that time resting in God, we are refreshed and our brains operate better, so we achieve more afterwards. I wonder if it operates like money, too. Give, and you receive back more… Anyway, hope you have a very blessed weekend. 😀

Leave a Reply

