It’s all about life

Yesterday morning started 5.15am. Too early! Especially as I’d been up with the person I care for several times through the night as he’d needed support. The gentle music that was supposed to relax him was still playing – “Come and worship…worship Jesus…” 

“Oh yes I wish I could! Far better than standing here, dragging my semi-comatosed brain into action for the morning routine,” I said to myself. At least I though it was to myself, for I got an instant reply, “My child, this is your worship.”  Quietly repenting for my bad attitude, I did my best to change it, and offer it up as the worship my Lord saw it to be.

Later, I read Exodus 23:10-19 and saw the connection. Worship is not just about standing and singing in church. It is about how we live our lives, and relating that to the God we serve. It’s about taking good care of our environment, the people around us, and our own bodies, with good rest and refreshment to ensure future productivity and well-being (v10-12). It’s about lifestyle: not letting other things become our ‘god’, keeping our focus on the Lord (v13). It’s about remembering the wonderful things God has done for us in the past (v15) and giving thanks for the good things he gives us daily (v15-16) and offering back to him out of that abundance. It’s about being careful in the way we approach God, that we keep a right heart, uncontaminated (v18); that we come promptly and spontaneously, not dragging our heels. It’s that we bring the best we have to the table of the Lord, with a clean and tender heart (v19).

When the fruit of the Holy Spirit is evident in everything I do, then the glory goes to him. It just has to! So worship is a whole-life thing. In one sense we can’t ‘come and worship’ because we are the worship. Mmmm… I need to let that thought percolate through every moment of my waking and sleeping.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Exodus, faith, relationship with God, worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s all about life

  1. allycarter1 says:

    I love that last paragraph, I will definitely be thinking that one over. Ps. Hope you get a better night sleep tonight.

Leave a Reply

