That obvious

A day or two ago, an old photo of my daughter’s wedding resurfaced on Facebook. Was it really 15 years ago??? I remember the months of planning and preparation that went into making it a wonderful day when she and her husband made their wedding vows, witnessed by scores of friends and family. And I have to tell you, I still have my mother-of-the-bride outfit in my wardrobe, though the hat went to a school dressing-up-box long ago.

The Israelites had to plan for a huge event too (Exodus 19:9-11). They only had a couple of days to get their glad rags cleaned up, as God wanted to publicly declare his love for his people, and his confidence in Moses their leader. God needed the people to know that Moses was his chosen man, and that he truly spoke to him, thus empowering him in the eyes of the people.

Very few of us get to be great leaders in the way Moses was, but I suspect as Christians, we get more attention than we realise. The eyes of the world are on us more than we know – checking out if our story holds up, if our attitudes and life styles support what we say, if we are consistent in applying what we say we believe.

So if I claim that God speaks to me, personally, is there any evidence for that in the eyes of the world? Is it that obvious? Because if not, I am missing the point altogether. God has saved me for my own sake, yes, but he has left me on planet earth so that I might impact my world around me. When he speaks to me, it’s not just for my benefit, but that I might become a better influence and a stronger witness of his grace. My purpose is to bring his presence into any place I go.

Lord help me to draw close to you so that I will be filled with more of you, and shine brighter in the eyes of those around me. May they trust me because of what they see you doing in my life. Let your presence in me be obvious, and attract others to you.

 

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Exodus, faith, Moses, presence of God, relationship with God, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

