The deal

“Your mission, should you choose to accept it…” And this was certainly going to be a Mission Impossible. It was a great offer though – who wouldn’t want to be the ‘treasured possession’ of someone who had put together the greatest rescue package in history, to pull a couple of million people out of slavery, provide food and water for them, and get them across a stretch of water without boats? All they had to do was obey him fully, and keep their end up in the deal. God wanted to make the Israelites a ‘kingdom of priests and a holy nation’. That was the offer on the table that Moses took back from his encounter with God, and presented to the people (Exodus 19:3-8). No surprise then, that their answer was a resounding yes! They were going to be the top brass in God’s kingdom!

And all it took from their end, was obedience. They just had to do what God asked to become the people he wanted to make them.

The narratives that follow show that they were not up to the task. Many times they were clean out of obedience. For all that, God did not reject them. Time and again he challenged, forgave and restored them when they repented. He did not give up on them.

And that gives me reason to hope. God offered for me to be his treasured possession. He was willing to pay the cost of his only son for me. “Follow me and I will make you a fisher of men,” he said. The offer included a new start free from sin, eternal life, provision of all I need, and his own Holy Spirit to empower me to live a spectacular life that would demonstrate the wonders of his kingdom to a weary, needy world. And all he wants from me is my obedience, my willingness to fully cooperate with him working in me.

And he doesn’t give up on me when I fail. And that makes me want to do it better. His Holy Spirit means it is a Mission Possible. I can do this. Today is a new day…

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in achievement, Bible, Christianity, Exodus, God's love, God's provision, Moses, motivation, relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

