Good news travels

There’s a saying – if you don’t like the bad news, go out and make some good news of your own! Now there’s a challenge. What can I do today? And if I post it on Facebook, how many likes and shares will I get? And will my ‘good news’ travel faster and further than the bad news that’s out there? And how did news travel before the days of Facebook anyway?

Going back to Moses’ day, it seems good news travelled pretty effectively to his father-in-law Jethro, back in Midian. He got wind of everything God had been doing with Moses, and how the Israelite people had escaped from slavery in Egypt. It was time to go look see, and return Moses’ wife and sons to him at the same time (Exodus 18:1-12).

Moses lost no time in sharing with Jethro “all the good things the Lord had done for Israel in rescuing them from the hand of the Egyptians”. Jethro’s response? Well first he praised God for the wonderful things he’d done. Then he acknowledged God’s supremacy as his own faith in God was aroused. Thirdly, he brought sacrifices to the Lord – his growing faith had an impact on his life as he felt the need to respond to such a powerful God. Then he shared a meal with Moses, Aaron and all the elders of Israel in the presence of God. Moses shared the good news, Jethro responded in faith and action, and everyone experienced the presence of God. Awesome! Fresh testimony of what God has done is powerful stuff!

At a Parkinson’s lunch yesterday, we sat with a couple we hadn’t met before. Plenty of chit chat about how the disease affects our lives. Mostly bad news. But it was only later I realised what an opportunity I’d missed in sharing with them how God affects our lives. All the great things he’s done. That good news could have done so much more…

Well I can’t change the past, but I can look out for them next time. I can pray for them, by name. And I can say sorry to God that I wasted that chance, and ask him to help me next time. I can also be looking out for what God is doing, so I have fresh stories to tell, and so I’ll be more ready next time. Who knows what God will do today? Who knows what opportunities God will give me today? Here I am Lord…

 

 

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian witness, Christianity, Exodus, faith, Moses, motivation, presence of God, relationship with God, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

