He’s amazing, and he’s with me

Close your eyes and think of the most beautiful place you have ever been. Think of how it made you feel. Chances are, it’s somewhere out of doors. And the certainty is that God made it. When you are struck in awe and wonder like that, it is worship. Worshipping God for some of the wonders he has made. There is another sort of worship, which is when we are caught up with God himself and adore him for who he is. We are aware of the wonderful things he has done, yes, but we are even more consumed by the wonder of who he is.

So the song of Moses and the Israelites continued from praising God for the wonderful things he’d just done in helping them cross the Red Sea, to worshipping God because of his character, majesty and holiness (Exodus 15:11-18). They had seen the powerlessness of the Egyptian gods and knew there was none like God Almighty. They had witnessed his faithfulness and love towards them as he had led them on that first leg of their journey out of slavery and towards the land he had promised for them so long ago. And they were filled with awe and wonder that God was their God.

Because they knew how great their God was, confidence oozed out of the Israelites. They had certainty that the surrounding nations that they would have to pass through would treat them with respect, stand in awe of them in fact, because God was with them; because they were ‘his’ people; because he had chosen and redeemed them.

Is that how I feel when I walk through the streets of my town, or through my place of employment, or at the job centre, or on a crowded train? There’s a phrase I’ve heard used – “God plus one equals majority”. As humans, many of us are so easily intimidated in so many situations. The world feels big and hostile, we put ourselves down, and confidence slips away. Those are times I need to remind myself how big and wonderful our God is; that he is on my side; that he is with me, that I am his child, and that he has chosen and redeemed ME! When I feel daunted, that is when I most need to worship God who is wonderful, majestic, holy, awesome, powerful, faithful…and on my side.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in achievement, authority, Bible, Christian, Christianity, Exodus, faith, God's love, Israel, Moses, motivation, power of God, presence of God, relationship with God, self-esteem, trust, Uncategorized, worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

