Come the day

I love that feeling when you wake up on a morning when you are going on holiday. It’s come! At last! There’s a delightful excited feeling within you.  Better still, the first time I held each of my babies in my arms, beautiful and pink, and mine. All that waiting was worth it! Moving house is another one – waking up the first morning in the new home, and all the angst is behind you. Waiting is hard, but when we get the result, the joy makes it all worthwhile.

The children of Israel had been waiting a long, long time. God had given the promise so many years before, that ONE day they would be free. ONE day they would have their own land, a land flowing with milk and honey. And that day had finally come. In Exodus 13:1-9, Moses continued his instructions to them about their celebration of this long-awaited day. V4 “TODAY, in the month of Abib, you are LEAVING!” It’s really happening, folks, you are on your way! God had promised, and God keeps his promises.

What are you waiting for? What has God promised, that has not yet shown up? What is it you are yearning and praying for, because he has put it on your heart? For me, I long for revival, a new wave of the Holy Spirit to come to our land. I can see God is doing so much stuff around the world, but I want it here. There are signs now and again that God is on the move, tasters of what is to come. But I want to wake up one morning, very soon, and know THIS is the day. He is come. Come Lord, let it be TODAY!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, blessing, Christian, Christianity, Exodus, faith, Moses, presence of God, relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

