Get over it

Had a serious Grrrrrrrrr! moment last night. Last thing before rolling into bed, I was just sorting out the ingredients into bread machine so it would be ready first thing. My hand slipped as I reached for the sugar. I managed to catch the canister, but the sugar spilled out across the work top, over the kettle and toaster, and onto the floor. Don’t you just looooove clearing up sugar. Especially last thing at night, when sleep is beckoning. I was not one happy chappy. “Oh joy!” was not the expression that sprang to my lips. So there I was, fuming at myself, feeling sorry for myself, as I cleaned the mess up.

When I eventually got to bed, I read Exodus 12:24-28. Moses was instructing the people of Israel how they would celebrate the Passover in years to come. They were still slaves at this point. They had had countless disappointments when Pharaoh had promised to let them go and then backtracked. Yet they worshipped. They took hold of the vision and worshipped. The battle was still ahead of them, but they worshipped.

Then it struck me. My body is a temple of the Holy Spirit (1 Corinthians 6:19). People often use this expression as a reason why we should not smoke, or drink, or have sex outside of marriage. But a temple is meant for worship. My body should be a place where God is worshipped 24/7. Worship is not just about singing, or Sundays, or church services. It’s about proclaiming the greatness of God in EVERY situation. Whether slave or free; whether disappointed or delighted; hopeful or hopeless; and even when there’s sugar spilt all over my kitchen. Good times or bad, whether I feel like it or not, I NEED to worship. God is still on the throne.

And then I flipped through the bible and landed on Psalm 103. “Praise the Lord, O my soul; all my inmost being praise his holy name.” So when the sugar spills that’s what you do. Tell yourself to get over it and worship anyway!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, Christian, Christianity, Exodus, faith, Israel, lifestyle, Moses, motivation, relationship with God, suffering, worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Get over it

  1. Susan Taylor says:

    When I grow up, I want to be like you!!
    Great thought and a great application. A super reminder to me that although God gives us powerful tools to put in our tool bag, I let mine get a bit rusty sometimes… I forget to worship in the mundane and frustrating. Thanks so much Jeanette.

  2. Steve Collins says:

    Great illustration. I cannot believe how in tune we are today Jeanette.

  3. Lell says:

    Umm, a new perspective-thank you!

  4. g says:

    A great way to live!

Leave a Reply

