The only way forward

I am so excited! As I am writing this, my daughter who lives in Romania is buying and moving into her new home in the next few days. I am thrilled that she will be leaving behind the damp and mould that have carved holes into the walls of her current abode, and that she will not have to face the freezing conditions of another Romanian winter with single glazing, crumbling cement and recurring chest infections. But what I am really thrilled about is her attitude. There was a blip in the middle of negotiations earlier this week. She messaged me,

There was an issue over the taxes you have to pay. They wanted to pay less by putting a lower value on the contract but I wasn’t happy with that even though they kept insisting it was legal. So I’ve ended up paying quite a lot more to pay the extra on the part of the seller too but at least I know that I’ve done what’s right and honourable! Everyone apart from C. thinks I’m crazy to pay the extra but hey ho!”

It’s not like she has a ton of spare cash – in fact she is living by faith. But she knows that righteousness is the only way forward in God’s world. And I’d like to think that one reason she knows it, is that we taught her! In Exodus 10:1-2 God told Moses that one reason for the plagues, was so that they would TELL THEIR KIDS, so their kids would know GOD’S POWER AND AUTHORITY, but also that he was ON THEIR SIDE! And those two things go hand in hand. If you want God on your side, if you want to see how he can provide wonderful things for you, then you have to submit to his authority: be impeccable in all your dealings. When my daughter and her adopted ‘family’ move into their new home, it will be because they have honestly tried to do just that. They have done their best to honour God, and he has come up with this amazing miracle of a new home. That is something worth being excited about!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in authority, Bible, Biblical, blessing, blessings, Christian, Christianity, Exodus, faith, God's love, God's provision, lifestyle, Moses, power of God, relationship with God, righteousness, trust, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

