Demonstration models

When I was at college, one guy in my French group, who had spent years in France and spoke the language far better than me, took great delight in our conversation tutorials in interrogating and challenging my faith stance, with the great advantage of superior language skills. Once, our group was in a restaurant, and before eating, I bent my head to silently thank God for the food before me. As I looked up, my nemesis declared, “Well that’s the nearest you’ve got to converting me yet!” Actions speak so much louder than words.

So many times Moses had spoken to Pharaoh, requesting, reasoning, warning of impending  disasters; but each time Pharaoh had resolved to deny his requests to set the people free to worship their God. The entreaties had fallen on hardened ears. So with the Plague of Boils (Exodus 9:8-12) there was no threat, just action. God told Moses what to do; he did it, and the boils broke out. Pharaoh knew full well why by that time, why waste breath?

And the magicians of Pharaoh’s court knew they were outranked. They could not even stand before Moses. They could no longer ignore the supremacy of the God he served. I love that verse of 2 Chronicles 5:14, where the glory and presence of the Lord was so palpable in the Temple, that even the priests could not stand to perform their duties. That must have been some awesome moment. When God shows up in his house, be it a physical building, or when our bodies have received him in such measure that we have become his temple, his dwelling place, then folks around cannot stand up to him. The presence of God cannot be argued against. He simply IS. He simply is God.

His grace and purpose for us is that we might be forgiven and purified by the precious blood of Jesus to become clean vessels for him to inhabit, so that his glory and power might be evident in us, that those around us might see and know that he is here, and he is God.

Oh God, come and infill me afresh that I may carry your presence wherever I go.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, Christian, Christian witness, Christianity, Exodus, faith, forgiveness, Jesus, lifestyle, Moses, power of God, presence of God, relationship with God, righteousness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

