A promise is a promise

I saw my granddaughter today. “Grandma, when can I come for my sleeper-over?” It’s definitely her turn. She’s 6, and knows her dues better than the taxman, but I didn’t have my diary with me. “You can come one night this week,” (they are on school holiday) “but I’ll have to check there’s nothing on that would get in the way.”

“Well can I come tonight? You can help me pack!”

“No, I’ll have to check my diary first. If I promised you could come tonight, and then found out there was a problem, then I’d have to break my promise, and I don’t do that.”

Pharaoh did though. He’d promised to let the people of Israel go to worship  if Moses persuaded God to remove the frogs that were rampaging around his land. Moses prayed, and the frogs withdrew at the moment Pharaoh had requested. But the much relieved king of Egypt then broke his promise, “and would not listen to Moses and Aaron, just as the Lord had said.” (Exodus 8:1-15)

Do you think God was disappointed? Not really. Not at all in fact. He’d told Moses that Pharaoh would harden his heart and not listen. No surprises there. God knew him better than he knew himself.

I don’t break my promises of course. Certainly not to six-year old granddaughters. And most certainly not to God.

Except for when I promise to spend more time in prayer, and then a brilliant new series starts on TV… Or to get up earlier, but then we have a few late nights… Or to give more, and then a big bill arrives… Or to surrender all, and then life happens…

The big question is, Is God disappointed in me?  I’m sure he knows me better than I know myself, so I really do hope he’s disappointed when I let him down. Better still, let me think back to the last promise I made him. What can I do to show his faith in me is justified?

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, Christian, Christianity, Exodus, faith, families, giving, God's love, hopes and visions, Israel, lifestyle, Moses, motivation, relationship with God, relationships, righteousness, trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A promise is a promise

  1. iwhitwood5786538@aol.com says:

    Thanks Jeannette! This comment really struck a chord with me. It seems that we have similar areas of failing in our promises (I quote) ‘when I promise to spend more time in prayer, and then a brilliant new series starts on TV… Or to get up earlier, but then we have a few late nights… Or to give more, and then a big bill arrives… Or to surrender all, and then life happens’. Having said that, I know that I must love Him more, by keeping my promises and responding to His promises and instructions!!

Leave a Reply

