Just get on with it!

The other day I was just going across the town Square, when I saw an opening open air preacher setting up. I went into a shoe shop on the square. One of the assistants addressed me, half laughing, “Oh look we’re going to be preached to!” I was embarrassed, and didn’t know what to say! I can’t get enthusiastic about preachers banging on about the world coming to an end, which he was, but at the same time I didn’t want to undermine his stance. So I just smiled, vaguely. Totally inane!

Moses must have dreaded having to go back and speak to Pharaoh yet again (Exodus 7:14-18). Yet obey God, he must! Off he trundled down to the river to speak to this mighty ruler who had power over life and death in his own realm, knowing full well that it was not going to be received happily. And to know that he was going to fail even before he started. That was tough! It makes the Great Commission to go and preach the gospel book like child’s play!

Yet how many of us wince at that! I was even uncomfortable when someone else was doing the preaching! When I think about it now, I wish I’d at least said something like, “Well perhaps he might say something that you need to hear.”

Why do we find it so hard to speak out what God has told us to say? Why is it okay to rant about your football team but not about God? Why is it okay to get excited about vegetarianism or animal rights but not about the Saviour who died to save us? Why do we get embarrassed and tongue tied when we try to tell people something that is of such eternal importance? And at the end of the day what does it matter what they think about us?

And perhaps that is the key. I guess Moses had to lay down his concerns about what Pharaoh thought. There was too much at stake for him to worry about what Pharaoh thought of him when his own people were in such grave danger. It’s time for me to stop worrying about what people think of me. And also to stop worrying about whether I will be successful – that’s God’s problem. There will be times when I get caught on the hop not knowing what to say, but least I’m going to try. There really is too much at stake not to.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in authority, Bible, Biblical, Christian, Christian witness, Christianity, communication, Exodus, faith, Moses, motivation, relationship with God, salvation, self-esteem, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just get on with it!

  1. its always after the event occurs that we think of something intelligent to say. nice thought for the day.

  2. widemargin says:

    How true that is! How we need to be so in touch with Holy Spirit that we get our responses from him. Thanks for stopping by. Hope all is well with you.

Leave a Reply

