All I really need

I remember coming home from one camping trip with the family. We’d made a full day of it, and now it was late and very dark. The way home was mostly country roads, and I was puzzled why several cars flashed us as they passed. Then I cottoned on. We were so heavily laden at the rear with all the kids, equipment and luggage that our dipped headlights were pointing way too high, dazzling other drivers. Oops!

But that’s how it is when you go camping. You need so much stuff. I couldn’t fit it all on one donkey; but Moses did. He took his wife, two sons, and all they’d need for a long journey on just one donkey. (Exodus 4:18-20) I’m guessing they travelled light. And I’m guessing they weren’t wealthy either. Leaving behind a secure job and a loving extended family in relatively safe territory, they were setting out on a long journey to a very uncertain welcome amongst slave people, to take on just about the toughest assignment in history. Talk about leaving your security behind!

But the one thing Moses took in his hand, was the staff of God. The same one he’d used for years as he’d wandered the wilderness with his father-in-law’s sheep. The very one God had turned into a snake to demonstrate his power. This was now the symbol of Moses’ security, for he was taking it in obedience to God, and in faith that God could use even him.

When we read the story of Moses, it’s easy to forget he was a man who struggled to go after his God-given calling. In all likelihood, that first step across the threshold from comfort zone to unknown was one of the hardest. Just like us. But just like with Moses, God gives us all we need to experience the security that he provides.

What are the challenges facing me, or you right now? All that I need to cope and even succeed is already in my hand. Not necessarily loads of stuff to weigh me down, like the car, but the things God has worked on and developed within me. Each day, I must step out, trusting that it is enough.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in achievement, Bible, Biblical, Christian, Christianity, Exodus, faith, God's provision, Moses, power of God, protection, trust, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

