Worth fighting for

I was desperately in need of a job with better pay, so when I went for the interview, and they offered me, not the job I’d applied for, but another they’d created specially for me, I was delighted! Unfortunately the boss had not done her calculations correctly, and discovered they’d have to pay me more than she’d accounted for; so she tried to blow me off. Starting work for a boss who really does not want you did not bode well, and if I hadn’t been so desperate, I would probably have backed down. But desperation won, and I claimed my rights. It was far from the easiest post, but I stuck it because of the needs of my family.

Desperation generates tenacity, and God knew the Israelites were desperate. They’d need that motivation to get them out of status quo in Egypt to face the Canaanite nations. God told Moses to remind the people what they would be up against – a mighty battle to get out of Egypt, and another to get into their promised land. But, he assured them, it was going to be worth fighting for – a land flowing with milk and honey. God would not reduce the discomfort in Egypt, as they needed every incentive to get up and get going.

Apparently mother birds start to make the cosy nest less comfortable when it’s time for their chicks to get on their way – much the same principle.  So when things are not going well, and you don’t feel that you’ve done anything to deserve the bad treatment; when God does not seem to hear your prayers for things to get better, maybe, just maybe, God is creating the motivation within you to precipitate a move that you won’t find easy. For the Israelites though, it wasn’t just a move ‘out’. to get away from their problems: God gave them a vision of something so much better, so worth fighting for. A land flowing with milk and honey. When life is tough and you think it’s time to move forward, ask God to give you a clear vision, of the ‘something better’ that he has in store for you. Ask for something worth fighting for.

 

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in achievement, Bible, Biblical, Christian, Christianity, Exodus, faith, God's provision, hopes and visions, Moses, motivation, relationship with God, suffering, unanswered prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

