Speaking it out

We were clearing out a few of the books in my husband’s library this morning, and I found inside one of them a piece of paper with typewriting on. It turned out to be a personal prophecy dated April 2001 – a very difficult time in our family. As I read the script, it could have been for today. The encouragement that had meant so much to us in those times, was just as significant right now. Isn’t it amazing how God knows what we need, and when we need it! It certainly brought some tears to my eyes.

Jacob’s sons were there at their father’s side, as he uttered his last blessings and prophecies over each one of them. We don’t get a lot of insight into most of their individual characters in the bible, but I’m guessing that the words Jacob spoke over them had some significance to their current situations, as well as foretelling something of the story of their tribe to come. One gets the impression that Zebulun was perhaps one who looked out for others, while Issachar was hardworking, but non-confrontational to a fault, and maybe Dan was a lover of justice, who would go after an offender with venom (Genesis 49:13-21). Likewise the characters of Gad, Asher and Naphtali may have given a sense of direction, and an ethos down the family line.

Often in the prophetic, there will be a part of what is seen and discerned with our eyes and ears, mixed with a sense of what God is saying about the person or group. We are whole people, body and spirit, and God uses us holistically. He shows us things using our natural senses and our spiritual senses, if we will but pay attention to him. I have to admit there have been times I have had a feeling that God was saying something to me that would benefit another person, but I held back, embarrassed to pass it on in case I’d got it all wrong!

I don’t even remember being given that piece of paper that I found in the book, but someone took the time and trouble to listen to God on our behalf, type it up, and pass it on. I’m sure we were blessed by it at the time, and now again all these years later. And that’s because someone took the trouble, and didn’t listen to their embarrassment. I so need to learn from that.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, blessing, blessings, Christian, Christianity, communication, faith, families, Genesis, God's love, God's provision, Israel, Jacob, relationship with God, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

