Time with his child

We’ve had some fantastic family get-togethers. I love it catching up with everyone, enjoying just being family. One of my kids lives quite local, so I get to see her and my son-in-law and my grandchildren fairly often, which is a real blessing. The other two live quite a distance away – but I’ve just heard from both of them this week, that they are both coming visiting quite soon. That does my heart good!

Jacob probably saw most of his children and grandchildren quite regularly as they all lived in Goshen; but his precious Joseph obviously did not get to visit so often. When Jacob’s end was drawing near, word reached this favourite son, so Joseph gathered up his two boys and hot-footed over to see him (Genesis 48:1-2). His arrival brought such revival of spirits to his father, and Jacob ‘rallied his strength and sat up on the bed’.

Like most caring parents, my husband and I love our kids to bits, and for the most part we enjoy the fact that they are busy getting on with living their lives. But it is such a joy to see them all, and cherish the moments we can spend with them.

I think that is how it is with God. For the most part, he loves to watch us, busy with our doings, interacting with others, being his hands and feet on earth. But when we set that time apart just to spend time with him, that brings a smile to his face! I can just picture him thinking, “Ah! Here comes my precious child, coming to share a bit of his/her life with me.”

We read in Psalm 103:1 (KJV) “Bless the Lord, O my soul…” Now I know that tends to be translated as ‘Praise the Lord’, but I find it a fascinating thought that there is something I can do that gladdens the heart of Almighty God! Coming before him, spending time with Father, sharing our lives with him is something that blesses him, that does his heart good! And it’s something I can do. Doesn’t that make you want to?

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, blessing, blessings, Christian, Christianity, faith, Genesis, God's love, Jacob, Joseph, prayer, presence of God, relationship with God, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time with his child

  1. great thoughts! have to go look up the Psalms verses! Thanks margin! God bless, hope all is well

Leave a Reply

