It’s a blast!

I used to have to travel home from work down a very busy stretch of the M6. One evening, a lorry cut in on me, and righteous indignation blazed. I sounded my horn hard. But then it stuck! So there I was, cruising down the slow lane of the motorway with my horn full blaring the whole time. I couldn’t stop it! You can imagine the glances of other motorists as they passed me. I felt like holding up both hands to say, “Look it’s really not me!” That was not my most embarrassing moment…we are not going there today…but it was a close second!

Sometimes you really don’t want to be heard, but you just can’t help it. Take Joseph (Genesis 45:1-3). He’d sent out all his attendants to make the announcement to his brothers private, but it just couldn’t stay private. He wept so loudly that the whole household could hear it, and of course a juicy bit of gossip like that doesn’t take much time to go an exceedingly long way. The thing was, Joseph was so emotional about making himself known to his brothers, and really bonding with them and his father again, he could not hold it in. His passion for the thing he really wanted – real, live connection with his own family, was so profound, it just could not be contained within that private room.

That brings me to the question. What sort of exciting news would I not be able to contain? Passing my driving test? Winning the lottery? A grandchild on the way? Booking a round-the-world cruise? How many of my colleagues, neighbours, non-Christian friends and acquaintances know how much I love God and want real, live connection with him? Is my passion for him so profound that it just leaks out of me?

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, Christian, Christian witness, Christianity, faith, families, Genesis, Joseph, motivation, relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s a blast!

  1. great post!!! Have no idea what a lorry is but I think you got your just desserts for honking at them lol. Kidding kind of. I used to have a dome light that wouldn’t shut off periodically. lots of looks on that one as well. Great lead in to the Joseph sequel and it really made me think if there is something that I can’t help but make noise about Christianity speaking. Good job.

    • widemargin says:

      Lorry! I had no idea that was British. My dictionary tells me you call it a truck – for transporting goods. How did you get by as a child without the tongue-twister “Red Lorry, Yellow Lorry” (repeat lots of times)…Thanks for the comment! Btw, what’s a dome light?

Leave a Reply

