Count it all joy…

Time has been rather in short supply recently, and most of my fellowship times have been on the hoof. For the first time in ages, I had a few minutes to actually sit down to have ten minutes with God while the dinner was cooking – bliss! I sat down with my bible and my first cup of coffee of the day, and started reading, and jotting down a few thoughts. Next moment disaster struck! My coffee cup slipped out of my hand, pouring into my lap, over my precious widemargin bible, and over the carpet. Loud shriek. My husband came to see what had happened. “Count it all joy! There’s no point getting upset about it. Just deal with it calmly. It’ll be fine!” Hmph! One of these fine days I’ll quote that back to him at just the right moment.

But he was right. What good does it do to get upset? How does that make it better? OK, so my bible is now severely coffee stained, and some of the pages threatened to stick together. But I can still read almost all of it – just a small section on one page damaged beyond reading. (Hairdryers are a great invention.)

Funny, I’d just been reading Genesis 43:14. “As for me, if I am bereaved, I am bereaved.” There is a point where we just have to let go, and let God. When you have to lose something, or someone for that matter, there comes a point where you have to throw your lot in with God, and trust him however it turns out. Granted, my potential loss with the coffee spill was pretty minimal in the scale of things, and although it’s important to me, even if my whole bible had become useless, the world would not have come to an end. For Jacob, the potential loss of his son was huge. Nevertheless, whether the loss is tiny or immense, when the point comes that you can’t change that loss, you do have to relinquish it, stop worrying, and trust God with the outcome. There really is no point doing anything else. I’m not sure I’m quite up to counting it all joy yet though…!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, blessing, Christian, Christianity, faith, Genesis, Jacob, lifestyle, relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

