What will you leave behind?

I’m so proud of all my kids. I’m also thrilled with my grandkids, and enjoy hearing about all that they’ve achieved at school, at cubs, at church and at home. If I never achieved anything else in my life, I can look on them and see the evidence of some good work! I can also think back to some of the kids I taught, and the progress they made, and I hope too that there are people who have made progress in their faith walk through my encouragement. But what would history make of me? What will my legacy to the world look like?

For Esau, his legacy was mostly his family; though unfortunately as I said in the last post, we tend to remember him more for his failings than his successes. And as for Jacob? Do we think of him as ‘The Twister’, or as the Patriarch who established his family in the worship and service of the living God? I think it is interesting that Genesis 37:2 announces, “This is the account of Jacob”, and then goes straight into the narrative of Joseph. But what preceeds that, is verse 1: “Jacob lived in the land where his father had stayed, the land of Canaan.” Jacob had at long last arrived in the place God had intended for him. It seems to me, that his story is continued through Joseph. Jacob had had variable success at leading his family, and they had finally got back to Canaan. From here on, it was Joseph who did the leading. It was his story that took the whole family down to Egypt for their preservation, and it was also Joseph who had the foresight that one day the family would return to the land of God’s promise, (Genesis 50:24-25). Even after his death, it must have been this prophecy that kept the succeeding generations in hope of deliverance during their period of slavery. What a legacy!

Recently, my husband and I have felt God impress upon us the importance of praying for specific individuals and families. If we have heard right, that could carry an amazing legacy. If each of those people fulfill their potential, in part through our prayers, the results could far outshine anything we ourselves might be remembered for. We need to listen carefully to God, because if we each play the part he has called us to, the outcome could be mighty. I don’t care if I’m remembered for it by people, because God knows if I have done my bit to extend his kingdom.

 

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in achievement, Bible, Biblical, Christian, Christianity, families, Genealogy, Genesis, Jacob, prayer, relationship with God, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

