All sorts

It’s funny what you remember. One memory I have of one of our previous pastors from many years ago, was a sermon he preached on how God loved and used ‘all sorts’; and to illustrate it, he held up a box of liquorice allsorts. I was hoping he’d distribute them, but sadly not! The point’s there though – God does take, love and use all sorts of people, not just the nice ones!

Sometimes I look around at the Church at large (not particularly my local church – all the people there are very nice!) and I have to pick an argument with God about some of the folk he has chosen to bless. ‘Jobs for gobs’ I call it – when people like the sound of their own voices, or get promoted because they can talk the talk. I have to say that there are some wonderful, humble, gracious leaders around, but there are also some big shots in the Christian world, with mega ministries, who are not that nice! I suppose, just like the rest of us, they are still ‘work in progress’, and it’s part of my learning curve to love them anyway!

I think Jacob was one such. He had it all – the blessing, the abundance, the savvy, the girls and so on, but he doesn’t come across as someone I’d rush to have lunch with. Yet God really blessed him! Granted, he must have been a diligent worker, but everything he touched increased, and he knew it! (Genesis 30:25-30)

And someone else knew it too – Laban. He saw that God had blessed him because of Jacob, and naturally he wanted to keep the connection and maintain the blessing. Who wouldn’t?

The thing is, we too have been ‘blessed in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ’. (Ephesians 1:3) And the question I have to ask myself is, do people recognize this blessing in me, as Laban saw it in Jacob? And if not, why not?

Maybe the answer lies in verses 29-30. Jacob himself knew that he was blessed, and able to bring blessing on all that he dealt with. Maybe I hold myself back because I don’t recognize what God can do in me. When I take hold of that myself, then maybe I will achieve more and make the blessing God has already given me available to others as they connect with me.

Repeat after me: I have been blessed in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. I have been blessed in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. I have been blessed in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in achievement, Bible, Biblical, blessing, blessings, Christian, Christian witness, communication, Genesis, Jacob, motivation, self-esteem, the church and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

