Don’t let others do your thinking for you.

When my kids were growing up, one of my favourite sayings to them was, “Don’t let your friends do your thinking for you.” I wish I could claim it as original, but it was from some song lyrics. Now to Jacob, in Genesis 27 v 6 – 13, I’d like to say something I would never have said to my own kids – “Don’t let your mother do your thinking for you!”

“She told me to do it,” is no excuse! Jacob knew it wasn’t the right thing to do. What’s really pathetic though, is that looking at verse 12, he’s more concerned about the consequences of being found out, than of the ethic of wrongdoing. So his mother tells him, “My son, let the curse fall on me…” Oh well that’s alright then!!!

There are times when people we love and respect, or even fear, implicate us in something a little shady, that we feel uncomfortable to be involved with, but even more uncomfortable to challenge. Especially if the rewards look rather tasty!

Standing up for righteousness is a very hard road. But following the crowd down the wrong path is not comfortable either. Jacob did get the blessing, but it cost him dear, as the subsequent chapters tell. God had intended full blessing for him, so he could have had it painlessly, God’s way. Doing life God’s way may have it’s difficulties, but it is the least problematic in the finish.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, blessing, blessings, Christian, crime and punishment, families, Genesis, Jacob, motivation, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t let others do your thinking for you.

  1. Pingback: The Secret Life of Jacob Black 1 « FanFiction Fridays

Leave a Reply

