Full of years

I sometimes think of myself a good many years from now (!no comments from my kids!) as a little white haired old lady, sitting in my rocking chair, and pondering back on life. What will I be proud of? And what will I regret? What could I have done better?

Abraham had no rocking chair, but he had plenty of old age! Genesis 25 v 7 – 8 tells us he was 175 when he “died at a good old age, an old man and full of years”. Full of years! I get the ‘old man’ bit – that goes without saying – but what does ‘full of years’ mean?

When I think back to the events of Abraham’s life, it was far from uneventful. He had risen in people’s eyes from being a wandering stranger, to being ‘a prince among the people’. He had travelled a long way, met a lot of people including kings, fought a lot of battles, gained great wealth, sired  eight sons who were themselves to become great nations, and been a true hero. And above all, he had an intimate relationship with the living God. He was blessed in every conceivable way. And it all began because he obeyed God to leave his country and go to the land of promise.

I’m still not sure what ‘full of years’ means, but Abraham certainly lived a very full life, with many, many years full of blessing. When I’m sitting there in my rocking chair, will I have lived a life ‘full of years’? It begins with obeying God, and that can be hard at the time, but it will never be something any of us will live to regret!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Abraham, achievement, Bible, Biblical, blessing, blessings, Christian, Genesis, relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Full of years

  1. Pieter Stok says:

    I bought a rocking chair when I was 27. Thirty five years later i am still waiting to use it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

