From ordinary to extraordinary

One of the first films we videoed was a spoof spy called “Hot enough for June”. The guy was meant to use the title phrase, and if he got the response. “Ah but you should have been here last September,” then he knew he had his contact. When I read the passage of Genesis 24 v 12 – 27, it reminded me of that film. The big difference, of course, is that it wasn’t planned; it wasn’t even a coincidence, it was a ‘God incidence’.

Abraham’s servant, commissioned with finding an appropriate wife for Isaac, put before God a way to help him know if he’d got the right girl – if he asked for water, she would give him water not just for himself, but also for his camels. My hunch is that it was really God’s idea in the first place, and the servant heard it from God then prayed it back – a dead cert for success.

What shocked me about this little story, though, was that when I tried to think of instances God has intervened in a similar way in my life, there were plenty of them – but they all happened quite a while ago. It has been quite a challenging revelation to me that I am not living on the ‘edge’ of faith in quite the way I used to. Where are the testimonies of amazing things God has done THIS WEEK? How can I share my faith when the stories are all dusty? And more to the point, what can I do to shake myself up, and get back into the vibrant day-by-day experience of God doing extraordinary things right here, in my life, using me?

When life is tough, financially or in any other way, there is often only faith to keep us afloat. When life is more secure, we can easily get lulled into a comfortable life style that just requires us to keep working, shopping, getting the car serviced and so on. It’s not that God can’t work when our lives are secure, but that we are not stretched into needing him and praying for his resources. As I’ve thought over this today, I am reaching the conclusion that I need to do two things. Firstly, I need to focus on developing at least one of the spiritual disciplines, to stretch me and make me less complacent. Secondly I need to pray for opportunities to use the things I’m learning.

We may not all have the youth, strength, health or lack of other responsibilities to go off preaching around the world with a few pounds in our pockets, but I believe God can make our ordinary lives a lot more extraordinary if we seek him for it. Watch this space!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Abraham, Bible, Biblical, Christian, Christian witness, faith, Genesis, power of God, prayer, relationship with God, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From ordinary to extraordinary

  1. g says:

    Great post! I understand what you mean by the “edge” though! I’m not sure we need to run around the world preaching. There is so much going on around us right where we are at. Since God has set up this wonderful grace administration where everyone who believes has holy spirit, needs are different. When Jesus Christ was here he was in one place at one time. Today the spirit of God in believers is all over the world! (Oh yes and by the way your blog goes all over the world! I live in the midwest of the United States- It is fun to meet bloggers all over the world. I’m thankful for you!)

    • widemargin says:

      Thanks so much for your encouragement. You are so right about it not mattering where you are. After writing that post, I had a great conversation with my hairdresser, when she asked me how come I’m always in peace! And I love this blogging fellowship – thanks for it!

  2. g says:

    Great post! I understand what you mean by the “edge” though! I’m not sure we need to run around the world preaching. There is so much going on around us right where we are at. Since God has set up this wonderful grace administration where everyone who believes has holy spirit, needs are different. When Jesus Christ was here he was in one place at one time. Today the spirit of God in believers is all over the world! Oh yes and by the way your blog goes all over the world! Isn’t that extraordinary! I live in the midwest of the United States- It is fun to meet bloggers all over the world. I’m thankful for you!

  3. g says:

    oops! I edited after I posted! Sorry about that!

Leave a Reply

