Standing out from the crowd

You go to a new job, or a new club, or even meet folks on the bus or in a shop. What sort of impression do you leave behind? They say first impressions count for so much. What else counts a great deal, is tenacity. Sticking in there when the going gets tough.

Although Lot had his issues, I have to admire his stance in Sodom. (Genesis 19 v 4 – 11) To have two virgin daughters in place like that must have taken some doing. The fact that he was able to go out and face the mob single-handedly took megga-guts, but also he must have already earned their respect, as they did not just push him aside and storm the house straight away. They saw him as an ‘alien’. Not one of them. Different. And he obviously hadn’t been preaching at them, as they saw his ‘playing the judge’ as a new departure.

If Lot, with all his issues, and without the empowering of the Holy Spirit, could stand up for righteousness in a place like Sodom, what sort of a witness could we be in our everyday lives?

In all my human interractions – work, home, social, out-and-about, past and present, how much have people been aware of my faith? In which situations have I been the best witness? How can I improve in demonstrating the power of God in everyday life? What can I do to bring the Kingdom of God into every place I go?

I think if I’m honest, the places I’ve been most successful in terms of witnessing, have been the most difficult – where I have really known how much I needed God’s help, and have called out to him, and prayed for the place, and for strength to cope. A place like Sodom would certainly get me praying! But perhaps if I prayed more in the easier places, the results would be just as fruitful. Let’s not wait for the problems before we pray!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in achievement, authority, Bible, Biblical, Christian, Christian witness, communication, Genesis, power of God, prayer, protection, righteousness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

