God, you must be joking!

I remember getting a fit of the giggles in a tiny chapel near my college when I was a student. Somebody whispered something that had tickled me while we were singing a hymn, then as we went to sit down, I held onto the pew in front, and a part of the woodwork came right away in my hand! It went back into place, so no real harm done, but the laughter just rose up in me and would not be quelled! Being such a small church, everyone could easily see me, so I had to bend my head down and stuff my hand in my mouth to stifle the giggle, until I could regain my composure.

Looking at Abraham’s reaction to God in Genesis 17 v 17, I wonder if he had a similar problem. He thought God was joking! He just didn’t get it that God was seriously planning to keep the promise of giving him a son through Sarah. Besides which, he already had his son, thank you very much. Abraham had managed to sort the problem of an heir, so why couldn’t God just bless him?

Abraham had always had a small vision – he wanted a son. But God wanted to do so much more. How easily we all do the same as Abraham. You have an amazing sense that God has given you a new plan, then you talk it over with someone else, start thinking about the practicalities and costings, and by the time you get to the action plan, it’s barely a shadow of the original idea! If God has genuinely given you a vision, don’t be tempted to water it down, or substitute it with something else, and then ask God to bless it. Be prepared to wait. If it is genuinely from God, then he will make away, however funny it seems!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Abraham, achievement, Bible, Biblical, blessing, blessings, Christian, Genesis, God's love, hopes and visions, motivation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God, you must be joking!

  1. alisonkrd says:

    Hello again, Ali in Romania here. I just wanted to thank you for your posts, they are a real blessing and I look forwards to them every day, even…..on those days that I don’t have time (not) to pray, up pops widemargin as timely reminder. Thank you x

  2. widemargin says:

    Thanks so much Alison, for your encouragement! I know it has done me so much good in bringing something each day. Knowing you are blessed through it makes it all the more special!

  3. Pingback: Trust and obey | widemargin

Leave a Reply

