What’s in a name?

When our friends gave us some of their delicious tomatoes, (see previous blogs Sweet memoriesand Sheer extravangance) they had no idea so many people would be reading about it, or that I would use the seeds to grow my own plants, or that I would pass some on to others to grow theirs! And who knows where it could end?

The problem for a lot of us, is that our vision is too small for all that God wants to do in us and for us. So it was for Abram in Genesis 17 v 3-6. The clue is in the name. Abram means ‘exalted father’, and that’s exactly what he wanted to be. He wanted a son. His vision was for a child that would honour him and call him dad.

But what was God’s vision? – the one he’d had all along, and tried to reveal to Abram in all sorts of ways. Abraham means ‘father of many’. God saw great fruitfulness for this man. He saw not just one baby, but whole nations and kings over them! So he changed his name. We have an expression – ‘it does what it says on the tin’ – and that was God’s way of changing Abram into Abraham, and getting him to see himself as the father of many nations.

So what about me? Is my vision too small? How do I perceive myself, and how does God perceive me? Maybe I need to ask him…mmmm

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Abraham, achievement, Bible, Biblical, blessing, blessings, Christian, families, Genesis, hopes and visions, motivation, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

