Press in!

I remember going to a Christian conference that wasn’t too many miles from home. We could only go for an evening meeting due to work commitments and limited funds. They had printed a song book, rather than using a projector for the words, and you had to buy your own copy. The trouble was, they had run out. Most of the songs were new, so we didn’t know them, and with no access to words, it was hard to even catch on what they were about. I looked around at the rest of the congregation – lost in wonder and worship – they knew the songs as they’d been singing them all week, and they had their copies of the words, so they were ‘in there’. Not one offered to lend us a copy. Not one even noticed our lack. I was so angry! I had come hungry, having struggled financially to manage just one evening. It had been a long, sacrificial drive after a hard day at work. Why couldn’t these so-called Christians look out from their worship bubble and notice that I’d like to join in too! I felt like a child pressing my nose against the sweet shop window, with no hope of ever partaking of the joys within!

I wonder if that is how Sarai felt in Genesis 16 v 1-2. Abram had had all these wonderful promises and mystical experiences. God had revealed how special her husband was to him. He had been promised a son. But what about Sarai? What promises had she had from God? Maybe she felt she was not included in the blessing and promise, Oh how easy it is to feel left out when others are being blessed!

The answer is very obvious when you are not in that situation. You stop having a pity party and start pressing in to God for yourself! At that conference, I should have enjoyed the worship going on around me, and had my own worship time, regardless of words. I should have been focusing on God, not begrudging the joy of others. Maybe Sarah should have been asking God about it for herself, a child of God in her own right, not just the wife of Abram. At the end of the day, we have to take responsibility for our own relationship with God, and not depend on others, or favourable circumstances. Press in no matter what!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Abraham, Bible, Biblical, blessing, blessings, Christian, Genesis, God's love, hopes and visions, love, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Press in!

  1. Ben Nelson says:

    So at the start i was getting stirred up and so frustrated with the people who ran that conference. Sometimes the conference mentality gets to me – though there are a couple that i really enjoy. I do wrestle with Jesus’ word – Freely you have received, freely give – and how that interacts with the curent “book now while the price is low” mentality. – Sorry i am ranting.

    But your final analysis is right on the money – it is up to us to deal with us, and come to worship ready to worship.

    thanks much for sharing this.

    Ben

    • widemargin says:

      Thanks for your thoughts on conferences. I really appreciate those that recognise people’s different abilities to contribute, and find ways to support less wealthy Christians. I guess that puts some responsibility on wealthier brothers and sisters to give a little more. I’m sure that will be food for thought in another blog somewhere down the line throught the bible!

  2. Ruth Kay (your niece!) says:

    Wow, Aunty Jeannette that’s hit home, it’s so easy at times to get drawn into the ‘but what about me, or and me Ruthy too’ (as I like to Call it) to remember the whole wonder that is our God. There are many hang ups in this modern world that lead us to be distracted… When really we are so Blessed and have so much to be thankful for xxx keep these coming, they are fantastic xxx

  3. mybroom says:

    Interesting concept “pressing in” – I find it is only possible when I grasp that the life of Christ was pressed into me at the cross. In that way it becomes a resting in His work rather than an effort of my own, what do you think? cheers Graeme

    • widemargin says:

      Thanks for your thoughts. Of course we are saved only by grace, but I think it cheers God’s heart when we put some effort into showing him how much we love him, especially when we find it difficult.

Leave a Reply

