Who are you listening to?

A friend of mine lives in a village high up a hill, with only single track roads leading up to it. Taking her home one snowy evening, I realised why I’m a townie! I like proper roads, and street lights.

I think if I had been in Lot’s place, in Genesis 13 v 10, I’d maybe have made the same decision. Decent farming land on the flat with a bit of civilization nearby. And yet, it wasn’t a good decision for Lot, as the later stories show. Not because there’s anything wrong in a bit of comfort and culture. The problem was the types that can be drawn to a city – ‘Now the men of Sodom were wicked and were sinning greatly against the Lord.’ Was Lot drawn to those places because of the ease of living, or because he himself was drawn to the evil in the place?

I think verse 14 is interesting:- ‘The Lord said to Abram after Lot had parted from him…’

Once Lot had parted company from him, Abram hears very clearly from God. Interesting too, that the decision to part company came after Abram called on the name of the Lord. Maybe Lot was not the best influence on Abram. Certainly he had to be got out of trouble a couple of times by his uncle, and there is no record of any great achievements from him. Maybe Abram realised that calling on the name of the Lord was not producing any results, (v4) and that he would not hear from God until he distanced himself from Lot.

What if God is trying to speak to me, but there are too many other voices around – TV, friends, politicians, music, work, theologians and so on – all drowning him out? What do I need to distance myself from in order that God can make himself heard to me? We need to choose carefully what influences our thinking if we want God to be able to access and bless our lives.

 

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Abraham, achievement, Bible, Biblical, blessing, blessings, Christian, families, Genesis, God's love, hopes and visions, motivation, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who are you listening to?

  1. g says:

    Wow, this is wonderful! I’ve got to go back and read this section in Genesis! You are really mining the Word!

Leave a Reply

