Family ties

Kick one and they all rub their shins. That’s how it should be with families. They might have plenty of disagreements amonst themselves, but if anyone else should try to criticise a brother or a sister, ranks are swiftly closed. I remember one roguish family that used to live on our estate. Quite a clan they were. Always falling out, but if they complained to you about a family member, you didn’t dare agree! What they said about each other, and what you were permitted to say, were two very different things.

I really love and appreciate my family – (I have to say that, lots of them read this blog!!!). Seriously, they are a great bunch, with a lot of love and fun. But if there were issues, I wouldn’t think it right for any of us to go airing our dirty washing in public.  Gossipping out to others does nothing for building relationships. It creates mistrust and bad feeling.

That was obviously what Abram was thinking when he decided it was time for nephew Lot and himself to part company. (Genesis 13 v 8-9) It was more important that they demonstrated family loyalty than that they hung out together.

In church life, we are meant to be family. And just like families, we should be loyal to one another. Of course differences will occur, and we have to beware that we do not air our grievances inappropriately, especially to anyone outside of the ‘family’. Wrongdoing needs to be lovingly addressed, repented of and forgiven, so that relationships can be restored.

Maybe a test of our love would be to consider how you would feel if a non-believer criticised a brother or sister in your church. Would you agree with them, or would you rub your shin?

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Abraham, authority, Bible, Biblical, Christian, families, forgiveness, Genesis, love, relationships, the church, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Family ties

  1. Its tempting to vent with high tech machines but that only means you have reprocussions twice as fast. Great post. I keep learning more and more to try to keep my mouth shut.

    • widemargin says:

      Yes, technology like facebook is great for keeping in touch with people, but I always taught my kids the ‘Bamby approach’ from the film – ‘If you can’t say anything nice, don’tsay anything at all!’ Thanks for taking time to comment.

      • It tis very tough now to not say anything especially when we are removed from the physical confrontation of it. I think some more from bambi psychology would help us all! That and the golden rule.

      • widemargin says:

        I agree totally. I suppose it boils down to self discipline, which is an outworking of love (the golden rule).(And thanks for spelling Bambi right – I thought it looked funny!)

  2. g says:

    Great post! Just curious- What does ‘rubbing your shin’ mean? I don’t think I’ve ever heard that before probably because I am an American.

  3. widemargin says:

    I was just refering back to the expression – kick one and they all rub their shins! So if someone hurts my brother or sister, does it hurt me too? Thanks for asking! Not all expressions are transatlantic I guess!

Leave a Reply

