He loves me anyway…

One delightful memory I have of when my kids were little. I was making an apple pie; peeling, cutting out the cores and bruised bits of the apples. One of the little ones was there by my side. I saw her reach out her hand and sneak a bit of the parings into her mouth. Quickly, I took the bad from her, dipped a slice of good apple into a little sugar and handed it to her. Just as any loving parent would. Then it struck me. How we try and grab a bit of the action for ourselves, when our loving father God wants to lavish upon us all that is best.

I think of this as I read Genesis 8 v 21b –

‘Never again will I curse the ground because of humans, even though every inclination of the human heart is evil from childhood. And never again will I destroy all living creatures, as I have done.’

God demonstrates his love for his creation, which is totally unconditional on our righteousness. He knows we’re prone to badness, but he loves us anyway.

Then he goes on to promise a continuing earth. One that will have its ups and downs. Just as frost breaks up hard ground for a more productive harvest, so life will have its good times and harder times. God knows how to prepare the soil that will produce the best fruit in us.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, Christian, forgiveness, Genesis, God's love, love, Noah, righteousness, the flood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He loves me anyway…

  1. coastalmom says:

    This made me cry for some reason. Maybe because I have been snatching up the peels rather than waiting for God’s sugar dipped blessings! Thank you for the reminder!

  2. widemargin says:

    Thanks so much for the comment. I think we all do that sometimes, and we all need reminding. Bless you.

Leave a Reply

