On your marks…Get ready…

Ever been to a theatre or film matinee in summer, and come out of the dimly lit auditorium into bright sunshine. You blink, surprised by the light. I remember too, coming home after a week’s camping. Going into the house, and everything looked a bit different from how I’d remembered it. The lighting was different somehow, I couldn’t tell you how. Your eyes adjust to your surroundings, and a sudden change can take you by surprise.

I can’t imagine what it felt like for Noah and his family, as they took the covering from the ark, after living in semi-darkness for about a year. (Genesis 8 v 13). And not only the light – I would imagine the sheer space would be a challenge to people who had been completely enclosed in a small vessel for all that time. I wonder if he felt totally elated or totally daunted?

We might not have to face such extreme contrasts, but we are easily fazed by big new challenges. There are times when God gives us a new vision – maybe a new task, or a change in life style, or even simply a new personal goal. I know when I first got the thought of doing this blog, I put it off for  a while…then started reading from Genesis 1, but just putting an odd comment in my wide margin bible. I’d got as far as Genesis 17 before I had the courage to voice my niggling conscience to my husband (a seasoned blogger himself) that I ought to be doing it as a blog. Once out there, he supported me in setting it up, and I was off!

I have to tell you, that every day is still a challenge, and if I think in terms of ever getting to Revelation, I begin to wither! But onwards and upward! One day at a time is all that is ever required of us.

So if you have a new vision that you know you should be working on, doubt is totally normal, but totally unsatisfactory! Find someone you can share it with, and get going!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, Christian, Genesis, hopes and visions, Noah, the flood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On your marks…Get ready…

  1. Ben Nelson says:

    I love the name of your blog – such a great picture. I love to go back the Bible I was using when I first began to feast on the Word, and it is still so rich.
    Can’t wait to see where you go with this.
    Ben Nelson

    • widemargin says:

      Thanks Ben. When I started I had no idea of how much I personally would get out of it. It’s encouraging to get comments, and I really love that, but the biggest thrill is waiting on God, and digging in to see what he’s saying to me through it. I just keep learning!

  2. coastalmom says:

    Ben I agree! Widemargin is such a great name! So glad to find this blog! I am sure that I will spend many hours here!

Leave a Reply

