Sweet Memories…

Last summer, some friends of ours gave us some cherry tomatoes they had grown themselves. They were the sweetest, flavoursome tomatoes I have ever tasted. You popped one in your mouth, and experienced a taste explosion. They were good! We just ate them like sweets. The last one in the bowl got a bit squishy, because I knew I’d had at least my fair share, and Karl, my husband, felt similarly – neither of us wanted to grab that last mouthful of joy at the expense of the other!

Then the idea came to me, to preserve the seeds, and maybe I could try and grow some myself! I carefully rinsed them in a sieve, and spread them out onto a paper towel to dry, to keep until planting time. I’d just tidied them all away, when I noticed a tiny cluster of seeds next to the sink. Rather than repeating the process, as I already had more than enough seeds, I just scooped them up and dumped them in the basil pot I’d just emptied (basil was finished but there was still the compost in it).

Only a day or two later, I noticed about 10 tiny seedlings. These things really wanted to live! After a week or two, I split them into little pots, and gave most away, keeping just two.

All through the winter, they sat on my kitchen windowsill, looking a right mess as they straggled their way up. Over Christmas, when we had all the family coming over, I was very tempted to just bin them – they were the unhealthiest plants you’ve ever cast eyes on! But they had clung to life so hard, and I remembered. I remembered that taste explosion. I remembered their sweet, sweet goodness. I wasn’t going to pass up the possibility of revisiting that taste!

I think God must have felt like that with Noah and his crew (Genesis 8 v 1) – But God remembered Noah…

They were probably not in great shape, but they were the seeds of God’s new start. He had no backup plan. He hadn’t forgotten Noah, and then suddenly thought on about him. But he remembered this decent, upright man, who had clung on to righteousness in the hardest of environments. How could he not remember him? Noah and his family were God’s precious jewels.

There may be times when we could easily think God has forgotten us; when all around looks bleak. Noah must have felt like that as the weeks and months went by.

But here’s the thing. God remembers.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, Christian, Genesis, God's love, hopes and visions, love, Noah, righteousness, salvation, the flood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Memories…

  1. Pingback: Sheer extravagance! | widemargin

  2. Pingback: What’s in a name? | widemargin

Leave a Reply

