Difficult decisions

There have been times when I’ve had to do something that I knew would cause pain to someone I loved. That makes it doubly hard. We’ve probably all had those moments. At times like that, your brain goes into overdrive, trying to work out the redeeming feature, that it’s better in the long run…that the benefits will be greater for all…that the alternative is only worse…

Now think of how God felt in Genesis 6 v 6 – ‘The Lord was grieved that he had made human beings on the earth, and his heart was filled with pain. 7 So the Lord said, “I will wipe from the face of the earth the human race I have created—and with them the animals, the birds and the creatures that move along the ground—for I am grieved that I have made them.” ‘

God was in agony with his necessary decision. What’s more, there was no quick conclusion, closure and moving on. It was 120 years between making that decision, and bringing about the awful termination.

This was no callous God, making a random choice with little concern for the outcome. God knew the terrible consequence of his decision, and had to live with that for 120 years.

At least I know that when I have to make those difficult decisions, God understands – he has been there himself – on this occasion and many more besides.

Some decisions of life are very hard to make, especially if there is no one answer that has a happy outcome for all. We don’t always get it right, but at least God understands our dilemma.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, Christian, crime and punishment, Genesis, Noah, the flood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

