Don’t let your friends do your thinking for you

So this tree was ‘good for food and pleasing to the eye’ (Genesis 3 v 6)…now where have I heard that before? Weren’t they all – according to 2 v 9? So why was she surprised that this one was too? Up to now it was there, and she was aware of it, but she hadn’t really noticed it.

I remember hearing a Christian speaker teaching that it is not sinful for a man to look at a woman. After all, it can’t generally be helped. Where sin begins, is when he takes a second look.

I wonder if this was the issue for this first woman. She wasn’t just looking at the fruit, she was looking at it. Suddenly she sees that it is desirable; and in the same sentence the deed is done that changed the earth forever.

So I guess the message of this verse is: don’t look twice. It could change your life forever – and probably not for the better.

And as far as the man goes – if ever Christians have used the relationship of Adam and Eve as an arguement for male domination, it surely must come unstuck with this verse! Obedient little Adam did exactly what he was told. Come on folks – male or female – look once, but THINK twice!

There was a phrase I used when my kids were growing up, that I repeated probably more often than anything else – ‘don’t let your friends do your thinking for you’. I can’t claim it as original – I think it came from the lyrics of a song, and if anyone knows who wrote it, please let me know – I’d like to thank them because they served my family well!

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in authority, Bible, Biblical, Christian, creation, Genesis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

