Very good – but for how long?

Not just good, but very good. That was God’s baseline assessment on his beautiful new creation. Surveying the same patch of space so many years later, his heart must break.

My mother wrote a story in her book ‘From Everton Vale to Rivington Pike’ that I’ll quote in full.

“To explain first, my mother had knitted dad a lovely Fair Isle sweater in different coloured patterns, for his birthday, and this he was wearing.  As I have said before, he mended everything that needed to be mended.

Well, this day, he decided to try to mend our big clock; it was not quite as large as a grandfather clock.  He got it down from the shelf and started to undo the screws.  This clock had a very strong spring and as he pressed it against his chest to unlock the spring, his hand slipped and the spring jumped into action.  It started to wind up at speed and drew in the front of his sweater.  All the wool was winding round the spring and as it went in, the neck of his jumper was being pulled down, tighter and tighter.  I took one look, (I must say that I was noted for being a giggler), I just sat on the chair, almost hysterical, laughing.

He was shouting, “Help me, I’m choking!” But the neck was pulling away from his throat. He said, “Stop your b***** laughing and help me!”

I couldn’t see how I could undo this clock, so I got the scissors and cut it off, which left a huge, roughly circular hole in the front of his sweater!  He took it off and looked at it and said to me, “Can you mend it?”

Well, that set me off laughing again.  How could anyone mend an enormous hole in the middle of a patterned sweater?

He said, “What can I say to your mother?  She will go mad.”

So, he rolled it up and put it in the back of his wardrobe.  I never heard how it ended when mum found it months later.  Life will always have a funny side!”

So my grandmother’s beautiful creation was spoiled. I guess she was pretty devastated when she found out. But a whole world! How would you go about coping with the ruin of all that amazing creation? How did God look on the damage inflicted on his beautiful new world and handle the disappointment?

He found a way to mend it. There couldn’t have been anything harder, but he thought the price was worth paying. Thank you God for Jesus.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, Christian, creation, Genesis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

