The image of my father

I love that I am made in the image of God. It tells me something about what God must look like. People always said that I was ‘the image of my dad’. I had features and character that resembled him. Those who knew him, and then met me would see how like him I was. But those who knew me first, and then met him, would say he was like me!

I find it fascinating that in Genesis 1 v 27 it seems to me to say that male and female are both contained in the image of God. There has been a lot said about male and female roles in the church, and again I don’t want to get into contention, but it’s so encouraging to realise that my female-ness is part of God himself, and that he created me to be who I am, not some lesser model.

Going on from there, it seems to me that it is part of being in the image of God, to hold authority, and with that comes the responsibility I was talking about in the last blog entry. If I feel my authority as a woman is questioned, I can answer that I am made in the image of God. It comes with the territory.

Most of all, when people meet me, I really hope they see a little bit of my heavenly father in me.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in authority, Bible, Biblical, Christian, Genesis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

