Taking dominion

In Genesis chapter 1, as God creates the light, water, earth and sky, he names them – day, night, sky, sea, land. Later on in chapter 3 v 19, God presents the animals and birds to Adam, for him to name. The things God named, man has no control over, even now in our highly technological age. Yet those things he gave the man to name, were for him to rule over and subdue. We have been given this earth to ‘work it and take care of it’ (2v15). That’s a big responsibility, as ecologists will remind us.

As I give my child, my pet, or even my blog a name, I need to remember the responsibility that comes with that. I haven’t got a lot of say in what the nations do with regard to the conservation of our planet, and I certainly have no control over the weather or the sea, but there are some things well within my domain.

Do I ensure that my child is appropriately disciplined, educated and taught well in the things of God? Do I make sure my dog does not foul the path, or annoy my neighbours? Do I ensure that the things that come out of my mouth or my keyboard are not hurtful or unnecessarily offensive to others? Do I pay my full taxes, and use my vote to the best of my knowledge – and do I try to improve my knowledge of current affairs so that I can be as effective as I possibly can.

That’s what ‘taking dominion’ is about in life today.

About widemargin

Retired special needs teacher, now full time carer for a wonderful person with Advanced Parkinson's Disease. 'They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.' So glad I have my Lord Jesus to help me through every day.
This entry was posted in Bible, Biblical, Christian, Genesis, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

